it’s crunch time

I’m back from my final round of Peace Corps leave, and ready to tackle my last few months as a volunteer. What I thought would be a relaxing winding down period has suddenly turned into my busiest time here. This is what I’m currently working on…

1.) I was funded by a U.S.-based organization called The Pollination Project to travel throughout Uganda and teach Reproductive Health and RUMPS (Re-Usable Menstrual PadS). This has been the most rewarding work I’ve done in country, and I’ve been waiting a long time for this project to be sponsored. I’m so thrilled that it finally has! Receiving this grant means that I can hugely expand my reach and my numbers: my goal is to work in 8 communities and with at least 1000 ladies between now and December.

Pollination is writing a feature and it’s due up on their website next week. I’ll be sure to pass along the link when it’s ready.

2.) I am also directing National Camp GLOW (Girls Leading Our World) in December, so planning for that is up to full speed. I’ve counseled at this empowerment-leadership camp before, but being a director means taking a much more active role. I love being able to put my own spin on camp, and turn the week into something unique and powerful for the girls. Updates to come!

On another note, some of you have been asking me for suggestions of things you can send that would help my community, and I finally have a list. For camp we need fun craft-type things that aren’t available here. If you’d like to contribute, we’ve put together a Wish List below. We’ll have about 100 campers and 20 staff, but any quantity of any of the items on this list would be so much appreciated. Even if it’s just a pack of old Crayolas you have lying around the house, or a quick trip to the Dollar Store… We’ll take any and everything : )

  • glitter glue / glitter pens
  • stickers
  • markers
  • ** tie dye (ALL colors: red, orange, yellow, light green, dark green, light blue, turquoise, dark blue, purple, pink…we need a ton of this!) **
  • foam stick-ons
  • scrapbooking stuff
  • glue sticks
  • string
  • beads
  • construction paper
  • ribbon
  • glow sticks
    …and whatever else your creative minds can think up!

(You can find my address in the Contact Me section.)

Thank you for reading, and thank you for supporting Camp GLOW. We love you!!
-T

You cannot know the good within yourself
if you cannot see it in others.
[African Proverb – Zululand]

Leave a Reply

