normalcy

I know that my blog postings have been falling off this year, as many people have been subtly reminding me week after week. I apologize to anyone else who has noticed.

My somewhat weak explanation: I feel like I don’t have too much to report anymore. Once you get used to the new beauties and difficulties, life starts to feel pretty ordinary no matter where you are. Also, over these past few months I haven’t been working on too many new projects; I’ve been in a more steady routine at my site, spending most of my work time at school, and filling the space in between with camping trips, visits to the orphanage, Game of Thrones marathons, and Jillian Michaels workouts.

My little house, and my little garden patch out front, are now my home. I love traveling on weekends to visit with friends or to collaborate on projects, but I love even more the feeling when I walk back into my house and experience a rush of comfort and ease. It was a long journey to get from “house” to “home,” to finally feel comfortable here – a transformation complicated by rat infestations, almost break-ins, loneliness, boredom, a leaky roof, intestinal worms – but I made it! Now I can hardly imagine leaving this country in less than 6 months.

Sorry this isn’t very heavy on the words. But here are some photos from my (very normal) life recently. Enjoy!

Love, Tay

Milk and honey have different colors,
but they share the same house peacefully.
[African Proverb]

DSCN0121
DSCN0837
chute
IMG_2153
IMG_2241
kimu
IMG_2239
peeeeps
IMG_2246
IMG_2247
IMG_2284
IMG_2237
IMG_2292
DSCN9164
IMG_2554
exes
botts

Leave a Reply

